Skip to Main Content

PFA Player of the Year: Early Candidates For The Respected Gong

PFA Player of the Year: Early Candidates For The Respected Gong

PFA Player of the Year: Early Candidates For The Respected Gong

The month of April is approaching and for the Premier League, that means that players across the country are getting ready to cast their votes for the PFA Players’ Player of the Year.

Given that you can’t vote for your teammates, this is an award the players appreciate as it’s always nice to receive the acknowledgement from your rivals.

Also, for the first time in a few years, we have a genuine title race on our hands which looks set to go down to the wire as Liverpool and Manchester City battle it out for the top spot.

The race for the Champions League is equally as thrilling with two of Manchester United, Chelsea, Spurs an Arsenal facing the threat of missing out on Europe’s premier club competition.

It will allow a player to fortify their position as the best player in the league, and there are a few candidates leading the way.


Virgil Van Dijk

They say one man can’t make up a defence, but Van Dijk seems intent on destroying that myth. Signed for £75million 14 months ago, he is arguably the finest central defender in Europe at the moment.

Providing a shield for the dynamic forwards Liverpool posses, Van Dijk also dictates the game from deep with his supreme technical ability.

The last defender to win the PFA Players’ Player of the Year award was John Terry in 2005 – Van Dijk would be a worthy successor.


Raheem Sterling

If you asked fans across the Premier League who they wanted to win the award – apart from players from their respective teams – I would be surprised if Sterling wasn’t the unanimous choice.

After standing up to racism and the bizarre vilification he’s received from certain sections of the media, Sterling is turning into a little hero and people’s champions on these shores.

He’s also delivering on the pitch too, scoring 19 times already this term and is set for his most prolific campaign.


Harry Kane

Looking for his third golden boot in his last four seasons, Kane is reaching levels many thought were unfathomable when he broke onto the scene for Spurs as their main centre-forward.

Kane may have a fight on his hands to claim that he’s the best player at Spurs given how Hu Meung Son has performed this season. Having said that, Kane has been in consistent form for the north Londoners.


Sergio Aguero

Do you want to hear a mind-boggling fact? Sergio Aguero has never won the PFA Player of the Year award. A forward who’s scored over 100 Premier League goals and has the highest goal ratio in the competition’s history.

A man who’s lifted the title on two occasions and provided one of the most dramatic moments in sporting history with his title-winning strike in 2012.

Aguero is certainly not finished at this level, but it’d be a travesty if he were to leave England without being acknowledged for this gong. If he were to win the award this term, it wouldn’t be a sympathy vote either. The Argentine is currently leading the goalscoring charts.


Andrew Robertson

A dark horse for sure, but Liverpool’s flying left-back has been a joy to behold this season. Signed from relegated Hull City last season for around £7m, Robertson has given the Reds a new dimension.

Jose Mourinho made a point to credit Robertson’s engine when Liverpool beat Man Utd 3-1 in December: “I am still tired to look at Robertson. He makes a 100m sprint per minute! Incredible.” Incredible, indeed!